Note
Access to this page requires authorization. You can try signing in or changing directories.
Access to this page requires authorization. You can try changing directories.
Viva Glint Admins, as data controllers, have the authority to manage survey data in response to a Data Subject Request (DSR).
Data deletion control
Viva Glint Admins, as data controllers, can choose to either: retain all survey responses and identifiable data for deleted users, including first and last name, email address and employee ID, or erase all data related to the requester, including survey responses. This configuration is set at the platform level and applies to all delete requests equally and is set to retain survey responses and identifiable data by default for deleted users.
When a user is deleted, they're not immediately permanently deleted. A user's employee record is in a soft-deleted state for 30 days. During this period, the employee record can be modified from its soft-deleted state and updated to the status provided in the HRIS file. After the 30-day period, all data related to the employee is permanently deleted in accordance with User Data controls. If a permanently deleted user needs to be reinstated, their data needs to be uploaded as if they're a new employee to create a new record. When a user is deleted from Glint, they are removed from distribution lists and future surveys. The user’s role definitions and their reporting permissions are removed. If the user has direct reports, their reports are assigned to a placeholder name, which can be updated later. Follow these steps to facilitate a retroactive user upload update if past survey data should reflect the new manager.
Delete user data
Select People from the Employees section on your Glint admin dashboard.
Use the search box to select the employee whose data should be deleted. Open that employee’s page.
From the Actions dropdown menu, choose Delete User.
A Delete User Confirmation box is displayed before confirming the delete action.
Select Delete to delete the user.
Retroactive user uploads
Follow these steps to facilitate a retroactive user upload update if past survey data should reflect the new manager.
Return to the People page and verify that the user doesn't appear in the list of All, Active or Inactive employees.
Return to the admin dashboard and select Activity Audit Log in the Service Configuration section. The user deletion action should be listed in the Event column and its status should read Success. The Details column shows Deleted.
If the deleted user is a manager, verify that all reports their team appeared in no longer include their name. The report now reads Deleted User’s Team.
Important
Glint 360 responses are also deleted with these requests.
Note
Should a deleted user be reinstated, their data needs to be uploaded as if they're a new employee. No previous data is stored once deleted.
Employee IDs reuse control
Glint Admins, as data controllers, can reuse employee IDs and reassign them to new or rehired employees. They can choose to either:
- Exclude data associated with employee IDs of previously removed employees from uploads, or
- Update the already deleted records with the status provided in the Human Resources Information System (HRIS) file.
Reinstate a deleted user
When a user is deleted, their employee record remains in a soft-deleted state for 30 days. During this period, don't create a new user record with the same email address or employee ID.
To reinstate the same person during the 30-day soft-delete period, update the soft-deleted employee record back to an active status through your employee data upload process.
If the 30-day soft-delete period has passed, the user has been permanently deleted. Upload the person as a new employee record. Permanently deleted survey responses and identifiable data can't be restored.
Important
If you create a new record with the same email address while the deleted user is still in the soft-delete period, the upload can fail because the email address is still assigned to the deleted user record.
Remove participants from results (closed survey cycles)
The Remove participants from results feature allows Viva Glint Admins to remove survey participants from a closed survey cycle. This is useful when participants were mistakenly included, to support a DSR request, or when data needs to be corrected after results have been generated.
Key capabilities
Remove up to 25 participants at a time from a single closed cycle.
Available only for closed cycles — participants cannot be removed from active or live survey cycles.
Irreversible action: Once removed, the participant’s results and their association to the selected cycle cannot be restored.
Does not delete the user’s profile data in Viva Glint; it only removes the participant and the results tied to the chosen closed cycle.
How to remove participants from a closed cycle
Go to Configuration.
Select Survey programs.
Choose the relevant program.
Open the closed cycle where participants should be removed.
From the Actions menu or overflow menu (⋯), select Exclude participants from results.
What happens after removal
- The participant and their associated results are permanently removed from that cycle’s analytics and reporting views.
- Manager and overall results will be recalculated.
- Cycle results are automatically refreshed shortly after completion of the process.
- No other cycle or user data is affected.
- Audit logging is maintained through your organization’s standard survey administration activity logs.