Share agents with other users and makers (GitHub Copilot)

Note

The harness used to build this agent uses usage-based billing. Using, building, testing, and evaluating agents might consume Copilot Credits. Learn more in Overview of usage-based billing.

You can share your agents with others in your organization so they can see, test, and use your agents. For each agent, you can share with:

  • Individual users by using their email or user name
  • All members within security groups that you specify
  • Your entire organization

Caution

This article describes how to share agents that you create by using the new agent experience. If you're using the classic agent experience, see Share agents with other makers. When you use the new share experience, you can only give viewing rights to agents you share. To give editing rights:

  1. Access standard harness agents and agent flows to enable editing when sharing.
  2. Add users to the agent's environment, and then assign users editing rights through the environment's security roles. Learn more in Control how agents are shared and Assign security roles to users.

Prerequisites

  • User authentication for the agent is configured to Authenticate with Microsoft.
  • Users you share with have a Microsoft Copilot Studio per-user license. Users who don't have a license can sign up for a trial.
  • Agents you want to share are published to Teams + Microsoft 365, with Make agent available in Microsoft Copilot turned on. If your agent isn't published, you're prompted to save and publish it before sharing.

Share an agent for viewing and testing

Note

  • When sharing an agent for viewing and testing, you can't share it with Microsoft 365 groups with SecurityEnabled set to false. To change this setting, see Share an app with Microsoft 365 groups in the Power Apps documentation.

  • When a shared agent invokes a workflow that uses an agent node to call another agent with the user's connection, the user must have access to the workflow's environment. Sharing the initial agent doesn't grant this access. Without it, the agent node action fails before calling the second agent.

Important

Sharing Copilot Studio agents that have connections to external services such as Azure Databricks Genie can be challenging because connections are tied to the identity of each individual agent user. This means an agent might work for you but not for other users.

To address this behavior, use one of the following approaches:

  • Use a service principal for authentication, if supported.
  • Configure environment-level connections so the agent runs using a shared, non user-specific identity.
  • Require users to authenticate individually when OAuth-based authentication is required.

To share an agent:

  1. Open the agent from the Agents page.
  2. Select the Share ( ) icon near Publish on the top menu bar.

    Note

    If you haven't published your agent, you'll be invited to do so before continuing.

  3. In the Share panel that appears, enter the user name, email addresses of individual users, or security groups you want to share the agent with.
    • Users and groups appear in the People who can use the agent field as you select them with a Pending status.
  4. Select Share to share the agent.

Viewers can see the agent in their list of agents, open it to view details and test it, but they can't edit the agent or its content.

To allow others to edit the agent, you can access standard harness agents and agent flows to enable editing when sharing, or assign editor roles to users in the environment.

If you just want to share the agent for other people to use, without viewing or testing, under Organization, open the dropdown menu and select End user access. This action allows anyone in your organization to find and use the agent, but they can't see the agent's details or edit it.

Change the setting to No permissions, unless specified to stop sharing the agent with everyone in your organization. Users and members of groups you shared the agent with will still have access to the agent.

Share an autonomous agent for users to run (preview)

You can share a published agent that has triggers with users who need to run the agent by using their own credentials. Before sharing, configure the agent's triggers and tools for user authentication. Users complete the required connections on the shared-agent page, and can change only the trigger options you allow.

Note

Each end user's autonomous agent usage is totaled and billed through the underlying environment where the agent is hosted. Learn more in Overview of billing for agents powered by the GitHub Copilot harness.

  1. Open the agent from the Agents page.

  2. Select the Share ( ) icon near Publish on the top menu bar.

    Note

    If you haven't published your agent, you'll be invited to do so before continuing.

  3. In the Share panel that appears, select the search bar. Enter the user name, email addresses of individual users, or security groups you want to share the agent with. Ensure Can use appears beside the search bar.

  4. If you already shared the agent with users, change their permission to Can use.

    Screenshot of the Share panel permission dropdown with Can use selected and highlighted, alongside Can edit, Can view analytics, and Remove access options.

  5. Select Copy sharing link, then Copy link to set up.

  6. Send the link to the end users you shared the autonomous agent with.

Recipients can use the can use link to activate the agent for themselves, connect the agent with their own credentials, and manage their permitted trigger settings. Learn more in Set up a shared autonomous agent.

Limitations

Sharing autonomous agents has the following limitations:

  • Workflow as a tool credentials: If your agent calls a workflow as a tool, that workflow can only accept end user credentials for authentication. Workflows that use any maker-only credentials aren't supported for autonomous agents.

  • Tool invocation for users: Users of a shared autonomous agent can't specify or modify tool parameters. Tool calls are invoked and executed fully with AI, based on the maker's specifications.

  • Agent management portal: End users need to bookmark the agent management URL to check their agent's health, fix the agent, consent to maker updates to the agent, and other management tasks.

  • Sharing visibility: Users don't receive a notification when a maker shares an agent with them. Makers must copy and send the can use link to end users.

Stop sharing an agent

You can stop sharing an agent with individual users, a security group, or everyone in your organization.

To stop sharing an agent:

  1. Open the agent from the Agents page.

  2. Select the Share ( ) icon near Publish on the top menu bar.

  3. In the Share panel, under People who can use the agent, select the delete icon ("X") next to each group or user. You can undo the deletion if necessary.

  4. To stop sharing with everyone in your organization, under Everyone in organization select No permissions, unless specified. Users and members of groups you individually shared the agent with still have access to the agent.

  5. Select Share to stop sharing with your org or the removed users or groups.

Next steps after sharing an agent

In addition to sharing your agent, you can also: